Finding an old movie


Long ago, when I was a kid, I have seen a movie. I don’t remember much. But I know I liked that movie very much. I only remember a part where the leading actor, a con artist, was trying to sell hand-dryers. To convince the mayor to buy hand-dryers for schools, during an sports events to which both the president and mayor attend, when the mayor went to restroom,  he hires some people to pretend as the president and his bodyguards to go to the restroom and talks about benefits of using hand-dryers instead of paper. Mayor buys his hand-dryers.

That is how much I can remember from the movie. I have always wanted to see the movie after I came to USA. I don’t know the name of the movie. I don’t know any actor in that movie. I don’t know anything about the movie except that part I still think it is funny. Yesterday, I wanted to try google if it can find the movie based on what I remember. I entered the keywords:” Movie president restroom hand-dryer”. Believe it or not, somebody else in this whole wide world has been looking for that movie. Here is what he has posted:”I am looking for a movie about 2 con artists that came out in the 80’s. I wish I could remember the title or more about it. I know the con-men end up accidentally stealing a briefcase of money from a boss of some sort, and there’s a baseball that has the combination of a safe on it.”

With that much clue, somebody answered this.

Answer:
Is this what you’re thinking of? It doesn’t perfectly match your description, but it does involve a con artist who learns the combination of a safe learned from a baseball record, and it is from approximately the right era.
Opportunity  Knocks (1990) (Secondary) Directed by Donald Petrie. Written by Michael Katlin and Nat Bernstein. Produced by Mark Gordon and Brad Grey/Universal Pictures. Starring Todd Graff, Julia Campbell, Milo O’Shea, Dana Carvey, and Robert Loggia. This is the story of a conman Eddie Farrell (Carvey) who wheedles his way into the hearts and trust of a rich corporate executive and his family (including falling in love with his daughter).  In the end, Eddie has a change of heart and all is well. Milt Malkin (Loggia) is president of a firm manufacturing hand-dryers for restrooms and shares Eddie’s love of the Cubs.  His office is decorated with Cubs paraphernalia. Milt is consumed by Ernie Banks’ record set on 5/9/70. It is his ATM pin number, his license plate number and the combination to his safe. Eddie uses his knowledge of Milt’s obsession to steal, but he eventually returns $180,000 to the safe.

So, it is Opportunity  Knocks. I checked the movie “Opportunity  Knocks” on IMDB. It is the exact movie I have been looking for many year. I checked Netflix and they have the DVD. Wow. It is amazing, isn’t it.  I could not believe the I found the movie with 4 words:” Movie, President, Restroom, Hand-dryer”. Google is amazing.

Opportunity Knocks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment