WC Dames

Do you have any idea what “WC Dames” means? Yesterday, I went to the France consulate in Chicago. When I was waiting there, I asked for restrooms. I went to the other side of the hallway, where I could see some small doors. There was a sign on the door said:” WC Dames”. Somehow I know “WC” is restroom. So I just went inside. I found it funny that the restroom does not have urinals, which actually I did not pay much attention. When I came out, a guy at the reception desk said:”That is ladies”. Embarrassing moment. Thanks god, there was nobody inside. Only after that I realized “WC Dames” means “ladies room”, or restroom for women as I understood. Why on earth do they(women) need urinal? I checked the dictionary. “dame” is an English word too. I should have remembered that. Too bad. I need to pick up some vocabulary now. Damn. How did I forget “Notre Dame”? So remember not to go to the “WC dames” in the France consulate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment