Dell loose hinge

My Dell XPS M140 laptop screen can only stay upright within 45 to 90 degrees, or maybe 90+45 degrees. I remember it became wobbly once and I fixed it just by tightening 2 screws on the bottom of the screen. This time the trouble is bigger. The hinge is loose. I looked at some youtube videos and tutorials. It seems not very difficult to take apart the dell laptop. I also found the manual from Dell’s website, showing me how to take apart the laptop step by step, with illustrations.  The manual is very useful. http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/xps140m/en/sm/hinge0.htm#wp1123881

After I open the hinge cover, I found that a piston ring kind of thing on the hinge came off. On ebay, they are selling the hinge for 13$. I did not want to buy that. Maybe I can put the ring back on the hinge. I removed the hinge, tried to put the ring on the ring on the axis. I could not do it with bare hands. I went to the lab, thinking the vise may help. I clamped the hinge, put the ring on the axis, and used a small hammer to push it back on the axis. Yes, I did it. It was just easy with the vise holding the hinge tight. I reassembled the laptop, and now the screen can stay in ay degree. I saved 13$ and 1-2 weeks waiting time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment